Game Idea - Fort Rush

My first try at making a game for Blinks. I absolutely love the party feel and physical skill aspect of Flic-Flop, so I wanted to make something with that in mind. I’m no programmer, but I managed to cobble this draft together.

For 2-infinite players
Playtime: 10-20 min.

Summary:
Teams/players take turns trying to take the fort by sending troops to rush its walls!

Setup:
Place blinks together in the shape of the fort you want. Sides connected to other forts will turn off. Double click to set the formation and begin the game.
Each player takes a blink and long presses it to turn it into their troops.
Single clicking the blink will set the team of the troops.
Triple clicking will reset a piece to the setup phase again

Play:
Standing around a table with the fort in the middle players take turns sliding their troops towards the fort trying to connect the red section to a fort piece.
On successful connection the green sections connected to by troops will turn dark.
Once a fort piece has lost all it’s walls(green sections) it has been captured and it will turn the color of the team who took the last wall.
That’s team takes the piece off the fort and keeps it
Once all the fort pieces are gone the game is over and the team/player with the most captured pieces wins!

GitHub: https://github.com/Keirxl/FortRush

7 Likes

Keirkl,

Welcome to the forum! I am really excited by this game idea. For a while now I’ve been pondering how to make the Flic-Flop mechanics more strategic and give it a sense of escalation and narrative, which I think this begins to do.

I installed the code on some Blinks and couldn’t quite get the behavior you described. My troop pieces don’t actually produce the darkening effect when their red side touches the fort - in fact, it seems to be the team color faces that do that. Also, I couldn’t get a fort piece to turn a team color when defeated.