Trouble figuring out .hex uploads

Hello everyone! I’m new to Blinks and Arduino in general and I’m completely lost when it comes to uploading code to my blinks. Now if its a sketch I can open in arduino, I have no issues uploading. This AVRDude .hex file stuff? Completely lost. AVRDude doesn’t seem to be on my pc at all and I tried finding a way to install it separately but I can’t figure it out. I’d appreciate some assistance!

2 Likes

Hi @Zephurious!

Happy to help with this. First of all, awesome that you up and running w/ the Arduino IDE and that upload is working as expected. I personally don’t use the the .hex file upload except for when we are testing the binaries we are sending off to be manufactured. Another good use case of the .hex file is if you don’t want to share your source code. For that reason, I wouldn’t recommend this as a necessary tool and this next part will be more technical than anyone programming with Blinks needs to be.

That being said, I would love to share how to do this.

Arduino IDE is essentially a text editor, C++ compiler (avr-gcc), and AVRDude bundled, and AVRDude is responsible for uploading the compiled code onto the Blink. When you press upload in Arduino, the code is first being compiled and then Arduino calls a command for AVRDude and the upload process begins. This same use of AVRDude can be performed outside of the Arduino IDE and in the MacOS Terminal or Windows Command Line.

First, you need to export a binary (.hex file).
Screen Shot 2020-05-02 at 9.45.22 PM

You will see that inside of the Sketch folder, two binaries have been created. The one you care about is the one that sayd [Name-Of-Game].ino.with_bootloader.standard.hex. This contains the game and the bootloader (which is the code that allows Blinks to virally transmit their game to other Blinks).