Blinks Schematics

I am a graduate student studying computer engineering, and I’m working on a project to diagram and explain what design choices make the Blinks work. Has Move38 posted the hardware schematics anywhere? I’d also be interested in what protocol is used for the infrared communication.

Hi @splatt,

Here’s a link to the PCB schematics along with a theory of operation. GitHub - bigjosh/move38-blinks-pcb: PCB and HAL for production ready blink tiles

@bigjosh wrote a really nice breakdown of one really neat aspect of the design for the display on Blinks, the charge pump, and it is here. He also demonstrates it in this video that I really enjoy.

While I think there is likely some fun to be had in reverse engineering a Blink, feel free to reach out with any questions :slight_smile:

best,
jb

p.s. across the different Kickstarter campaigns, I tried to document and share much of the process, and from a design/technical perspective, likely the first KS campaign here has a number of relevant (and admittedly verbose) posts between #10 & #20.

1 Like

The IR protocol is by far the most complicated part of the blinks design.

The physical layer uses very short flashes of light on the transmit side. The spacing between these flashes encodes the data.

On top of this physical layer, there is a packet layer. Here is a sample 2-byte packet (typical packets on running blinks are usually longer) where each pulse is a flash of the sending LED…

On top of the packet layer there are other layers that add checksums and stuff like that. The first byte of the packet is always a packet type, and packet type bytes chosen for maximum hamming distance.

All of these decisions are driven by constraints on the receiving side, which uses the same LEDs. The receive side is very complicated, so LMK if you have any specific questions.

1 Like

Interesting!