Fireworks challenge!

At the early dawn of the 4th of July, @jbobrow posted his fireworks challenge on twitter, and I had a take at it :exploding_head: Sharing the code in case you find anything useful there.

Here is the readme:

My first Blinks app! I tried to reproduce the fireworks that Jon Bobrow tweeted in the 4th of july (here), hopefully you find it useful. Some notes:

• This was developed on VSCode (thread to setup here).
  • Review the config files and adjust based on your environment.
  • This is my first attempt at Blinks, and last time I used C++ was ~15 yrs ago! So take it with a piece of salt and let me know if there is a better way of doing things.
  • I was trying to create sort of a framework for easier future expriments…not sure if I succeeded though. Files under fx folder.
  • StateMachine based, with support for delayed state transitions allowing you to control speed of animation.
  • There is a nice debug utility there (fx/dbg.h)
3 Likes

Nice.

Keep in mind I am just starting with all of this Blinks thing, but I did learn a few things since then.

1 - Using classes ends up wasting precious bytes and, I would say close to a 100% of the time, it is not worth it. My strategy for this has been using namespaces, normal typedefs to integral types (or structs, if needed) and functions that take as a first parameter my typedefed types.

2 - Sometimes you do not even need the functions that take your type as there will be only a single instance of it anyway throughout your program. In this case, I simply use namespace-scoped static variables to be the attributes of this single instance.